Home Page
World Shipping (China) Summit 2014 held in Chongqing
Updated Time: 2014-11-06Page Views:

The “World Shipping (China) Summit 2014” is grandly held in Chongqing City, the first ever host city in the inland and western region of China and on the upper reach of Yangtse River, China, on 5th of November. The Summit is jointly organized by COSCO, Drewry, Maritime China and Journal of Commerce.

Focus on the theme of "Adapting to New Norms", the Summit is attended by about 700 delegates from global famous organizations, shipping companies or relevant industries.

Mr. Huang Qifan, Mayor of Chongqing Municipal People's Government, Mr. Wang Jinfu, Chief Safety Inspector of the Ministry of Transport of the People’s Republic of China, Mr. Ma Zehua, Chairman of the Board and Secretary of the Party Committee of China Ocean Shipping (Group) Company, Mr. Li Yunpeng, Director of Board and President of China Ocean Shipping (Group) Company, Ms. Sun Yueying, Chief accountant of China Ocean Shipping (Group) Company, Mr. Ye Weilong, Vice President of China Ocean Shipping (Group) Company, attend the annual meeting. Mr. Sun Jiakang, Executive Vice President of COSCO Group, chairs the opening ceremony. The Summit attracts more than 800 delegates from all parts of the world.

The World Shipping (China) Summit 2014 has been supported by Chongqing Municipal People's Government. This year’s summit is strongly supported by many famous international shipping organizations. The Baltic International Maritime Council (BIMCO), the Baltic Exchange, International Association of Dry Cargo Shipowners (INTERCARGO), International Association of Independent Tanker Owners (INTERTANKO) and China Shipowners’ Association (CSA), continue acting as the honorary organizers of the event. There are 15 shipping and related industries’ organizations supporting the event such as China Coal Industry Association, China Iron and Steel Industry Association, China Shipbuilding Industry Association, China Ports Association, China Tally Association, etc.

There are nearly 70 elites from shipping or relevant industry attending this annual meeting and address the audience, including Mr. Li Yining, China's Renowned Economist, Honorary Dean, Guanghua School of Management, Peking University, Mr. Ma Zehua, Chairman of the Board and Secretary of the Party Committee of China Ocean Shipping (Group) Company, Mr. Li Yunpeng, Director of Board and President of China Ocean Shipping (Group) Company, Mr. Wang Xiaoqi, Vice Chairman, China Iron and Steel Association, Mr. Sun Bo, Deputy President, China Shipbuilding Industry Corporation (CSIC), Director-General and Deputy Secretary of the Party Committee, Mr. Tang Guanjun, Changjiang River Administration of Navigation Affairs, MOT, P.R.C.,  Mr. Wang Mingzhi, Deputy Director, Bureau of Water Transport of MOT, P.R.C., Mr. Teng Hongwei, Director General and CPC Secretary, Chongqing Transportation Commission, Mr. Zheng Shaonan, Secretary of the Party Committee and Vice President, Dalian Maritime University, Dr. Prof. Yu Shicheng, Secretary of the Party Committee, Shanghai Maritime University, Mr. Williem Buiter, Chief Economist, Citi, Principal, Mr. Lars Kloppsteck, the Copenhagen office of the Boston Consulting Group, Mr. Lars Robert Pedersen, Deputy Secretary General, BIMCO, Mr. Jeremy Penn, Chief Executive Officer, Baltic Exchange, Mr. Zhang Guofa,  Director, President, Party Committee Member, China Shipping (Group) Company, Mr. Li Xiaopeng, President and Director, China Merchants Group Limited, Mr. Zhao Huxiao, Chairman and Party Secretary, Sinotrans&CSC Holdings Co., Ltd., Mr. Zhang Ye, President, Shanghai Shipping Exchange, Mr. Bronson Hsieh, Second Vice Group Chairman, Evergreen Group, Dr. Frank F. H. Lu, Chairman and CEO, Yang Ming Marine Transportation Corp., Mr. Masahiro Tanabe, Director and Managing Executive Officer, Mitsui O.S.K. Lines, Ltd., Ms Silvia Ding, Head of South China, Maersk Line, Mr. Shunji Sasada, Chief Operating Officer, Navios Corporation, Mr. Reko-Antti Suojanen, Managing Director, Aker Arctic Technology Inc, Mr. Du Chuanzhi, President and Research Fellow, Rizhao Port Group Co., Ltd., Mr. Sun Licheng, Chairman & President, China Classification Society (CCS), Mr. Albrecht Grell, Executive Vice President and Director Maritime Advisory, DNV-GL Group,Mr. Noboru Udeda, Chairman and President, ClassNK, Mr. Eric C. Kleess, President & COO, ABS Greater China Division, Mr. Tom Boardley, Director, Lloyd’s Register Marine, Mr. Eddy Bruyninckx, CEO, Antwerp Port Authority, Mr. Robin Silvester, President and Chief Executive Officer, Port Metro Vancouver, Mr. Roger Clasquin, Vice President, Port of Rotterdam, Mr. Mark Long, Global Head of Transport, Shipping, Services and Offshore, HSBC, Mr. Martin Hu, Partner, Deloitte China, Leader of Shipping and Ports Sector, Deloitte China, etc. 

     Media home and abroad show great attention and interests to the event. Xinhua News Agency, People's Daily, China Enterprise News, China Ship News, China Water Transport, Modern Logistics News, Containerization, Shipping Management, Shipping Exchange Bulletin, China Ship Survey, China Maritime Safety, Ship Economy & Trade Hong Kong Shipping Gazette, China Storage & Transport, Zhongguo Shuiyun, China Ports, Port Management Review,,,, Lloyd’s List, JOC, TradeWinds , Seatrade, IHS Fairplay, Seatrade, the local TV, newspapers and magazines of Chongqing City, etc.

The Summit will last three days. The Organizing Committee of the Summit has set up rich activities and links, including Business Promotion, Achievements Sharing, Authoritative Foresight, Market Forecast, Industrial Insight, Top Views, port visit, etc. We believe the Summit 2014 will be another successful event for the international maritime community.

From 2004 to 2013, the “World Shipping (China) Summit” has been held successfully in Beijing, Shanghai, Shenzhen, Tianjin, Dalian, Qingdao, Guangzhou, Boao, Xiamen and Ningbo separately. Now it firmly stands as the World’s largest top-level shipping conference, enjoying a reputation as the “Maritime Davos”.


Print Close
Produced By 大汉网络 大汉版通发布系统